Book Review (Part I): Legend

Hey!!

Recently, I started reading this series called Legend. I haven’t gotten far so I’ll be splitting this post into 2 parts.

Overview

This is the first book in the sci-fi trilogy. The series is also called Legend and the books are written by Marie Lu.

The book is about:

June, a 15 year old prodigy, and born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, is being taught for success in the Republic’s most prestigious universities.

On the other hand, Day, a 15 year old who was born into the slums in the Republic’s poor district, is the country’s most wanted criminals. Although, he has never killed anyone and his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

More About The Book

  • Each chapter rotates between the perspectives of June and Day
  • The setting of the book is where the Republic and the Colonies, 2 parts of the US, are at war
  • A rebel group called the Patriots gets mixed in to the fight
  • The story is set in the Republic, and both Day and June (the main characters) are ‘citizens’ of the Republic, so the story is only from the perspective of the Republic
  • There is a test, called the Trial, that all citizens must take once they are 10 years. It determines a person’s academic career and their (job) career. (Sounds like The Giver, right?)

There’s not much more for me to say since I’m not even close to finishing the book.

Soo, watch out for part II of this review!

If it’s a good book, anyone will read it. I’m totally unashamed about reading things I loved in my childhood.

– J.K. Rowling

Leave a comment

Sport Cavort

Here, we are crazy for sports

Entertainment Central

All about superheroes, comics, TV shows, and Tamil movies (mostly Vijay)

Sanhita's Blog

My 8th Grade Life

Anything and everything

Anything and everything

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started